String Quartet (1905)
View Large Image
More Images
Scroll Images to the Left
Music sample

String Quartet (1905)

Item Number: #
The String Quartet was written at the Preglhof, the Webern family's country estate in Carinthia. On the finished score appears the date August 25, 1905. Segantini's triptych, the composer's original inspiration, remained the formal model; there are three clearly discernible sections within the one-movement structure. To express the depth of his involvement with the work, Webern gave it the following literary motto: "The sense of triumph that prevailed within my spirit I cannot write nor tell; it can with naught be compared, save only where in the midst of death, life is born, like unto the resurrection of the dead. In this light did my mind forthwith penetrate all things; and in all living creatures, even in weeds and grass, did perceive God, who He may be and how He may be and what His will is.

Title: String Quartet (1905), By Webern, Anton von, Published by Carl Fischer, Item number: BE2
Publisher:   Carl Fischer
Composer:   Webern, Anton von
  • String Quartet
Product Id
String Quartet (1905), Score and Parts
You must be logged into your account to save items to your wishlist.