Piano Quartet
View Large Image
More Images
Scroll Images to the Left

Piano Quartet

Item Number: #
Manfred Trojahn's amply dimensioned piano quartet in four movements with a duration of approx. 40 minutes was composed and developed in several stages.

The inner movements, a Vivace characterised by lombard rhythms and vitality and a dream-like adagio were written in the Mozart Year 2005. By 2008 the outer movements were completed. The opening Adagio "Zerbrochenes Lied" is an imposing lamentation of the dead whereas the Finale, a profound, moving "Wanderlied", was dedicated to Trojahn's friend and composer Wilhelm Killmayer on the occasion of his 80th birthday.  In this way Trojahn's work stands in the tradition of Mozart's two piano quartets, but adds a biographical element.

This is a large, musically demanding but rewarding work for ambitious musicians.
Publisher:   Barenreiter
Composer:   Trojahn, Manfred
  • Piano Quartet
Product Id
Piano Quartet
You must be logged into your account to save items to your wishlist.