Heifetz Plays Gershwin for Violin and Piano
View Large Image
More Images
Scroll Images to the Left
Table Of Contents Music Sample

Heifetz Plays Gershwin for Violin and Piano

Item Number: #
Jascha Heifetz (1901-1987) and George Gershwin (1898-1937), two of the best known figures in American music, were good friends and often played together. Heifetz had urged Gershwin to write a violin concerto for him, but unfortunately Gershwin died before the project got off the ground. These transcriptions by Heifetz are the next best thing. The five excerpts from Porgy and BessŪ and the Three Preludes are well known and Heifetz often played them as encores, but the substantial concert excerpt from An American in ParisTM has never been published before and may not have been performed by Heifetz in public at all. The infectious rhythms and gorgeous tunes of this American classic are brilliantly served by Heifetz as transcriber, and the Porgy excerpts (which include "Bess, You Is My Woman Now," "Summertime" and "My Man's Gone Now") sizzle with virtuoso pizzazz in these wonderful arrangements. This edition corrects all the past mistakes, and is a must-have for lovers of the violin and the music of Gershwin!

Title: Heifetz Plays Gershwin for Violin and Piano, By Gershwin, George, Edited by Jascha Heifetz, Published by Carl Fischer, Item number: ATF134
Publisher:   Carl Fischer
Composer:   Gershwin, George
  • Violin
  • Piano
Product Id
Heifetz Plays Gershwin for Violin and Piano, Violin and Piano
You must be logged into your account to save items to your wishlist.