Joseph Szigeti
View Large Image
More Images
Scroll Images to the Left
Table Of Contents

Joseph Szigeti

Item Number: #
Joseph Szigeti's reputation was particularly exalted among his fellow violinists. Eschewing virtuosity for the sake of virtuosity, Szigeti was always completely at the service of the music. Szigeti visited CBC's Montreal studios on three separate occasions and those performances are gathered on this DVD release. Though Szigeti was already in his 60s when these performances were filmed, the qualities in his playing so cherished by his admirers are readily apparent. 72 min., Black & White, Mono.Giuseppe Tartini: Violin Concerto in D Minor Jenö Hubay: Czardas No. 3 for violin and orchestra Orchestre de Radio-Canada/ Wilfrid Pelletier. Beethoven: Violin Concerto in D Major (Allegro ma non troppo) Orchestre de Radio-Canada/Paul Scherman. Prokofiev: Sonata for violin and piano No. 2 in D Major Arthur Balsam, piano.

Title: Joseph Szigeti, Published by Video Artists International, Item number: DVD4269
Brand:   Video Artists International
Product Id
You must be logged into your account to save items to your wishlist.